Celebrating the Life of my Great-Aunt Gladys and her 100th Brithday

 

March 31, 2012

The Making of a Mosaic Photo Quilt –
Celebrating the Life of my Great-Aunt Gladys and her 100th Brithday

Hello everybody,
I am creating a new Mosaic Photo Quilt for my great-aunt Gladys she and the family prepares to celebrate her 100th birthday. I will start working on the quilt tonight (March 31, 2012) and it should be ready by May 4th in time to be presented to her during the celebration of her birthday. This is a great opportunity to show the steps that goes into creating one of my photo quilts and I hope that you follow along as I go through the process. When the quilt is done I will create a visual guide on how to create my style of photo quilts.
…………………………………………………………………………….

The quilting is now completed – (12) it is now ready to have to hangers and the binding added.



The images above – (10) & (11) show the quilt as it nears completion for the presentation to Aunt Gladys at her birthday celebration in Rock Hill, SC next weekend.



Quilting the quilt on the long arm quilting machine – (8) & (9) at Olde City Quilts in Burlington, NJ where I do all my quilting.

Here is Aunt Glady’s quilt top after being washed – (7) the top is shown here air drying
This set of photo were added on 4-29-2012

Preparing the Nine-patch blocks – (6) The actual quilt as it starts to take shape.


Preparing the Nine-patch blocks – (5)


Preparing the Nine-patch blocks – (4)


Preparing the Nine-patch blocks – (3)


Preparing the Nine-patch blocks – (2)


Preparing the Nine-patch blocks – (1)


[A.] Gathering the materials – The photos have been printed to fabric and heat treated to make them colorfast and washable, The photos and label are shown on top.






Leave a Reply

