TeeShirt Quilt Project – Preparing the Tee Shirts

June 13, 2012
The Making of a TeeShirt Quilt –
Celebrating the Some of a Mother’s Favorite Places and Activities

Hello everybody,
Today I starting to work on the tee shirt quilt that I designed back in January. The first step will be to prepare the fabric and start making the blocks.
…………………………………………………………………………….
Step 1: Opening up the shirts, preparing block templates
The finished block sizes are shown above, the template sizes will be 2″ larger for the sizes shown above.
……………………………………………………………………………………..

June 14, 2012

Cutting the Tee Shirts into blocks

I should complete the cutting of the shirts into the over sized blocks today with the next step adding the interfacing the back of the blocks

…………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Adding Interfacing

The cutting out the initial blocks have been completed. Now I’ve started to add interfacing on the back of the blocks. The blocks shown here have been trimmed to the proper block size.

[to be continued ….]

One comment

  1. clairewitherspoon

    Hey Lew,
    The block sizes for the tee shirt quilt look interesting. I can’t wait to see the layout. I’ve made a lot of tee shirt quilts for my kids, but I don’t use interfacing. I find it makes them too stiff. What kind of interfacing do you use? CW

Leave a Reply

