Photographers, have you ever thought of quilting?

Being a photographer and a quilter I’ve become very, very passionate about combining my two favorite of interest and making quilted photos quilted images. What I’m doing starting with this page will be show what I need everything to do to create a quilted image, a work of art that I call a ‘True Image’ Quilted Photo. What I’m doing combines the love of photography in the form of digital files and traditional quilting to turn photographs into original art.

What I’m starting with is the instructions that I’m using on a project that I’m currently working on and are representative of the way that I make my art quilts. Showing my work and the way I make it, hopefully I will inspire others to try creating photo art similar to what I’m doing using my technique as a guide

 

This first image is of my original photograph of the water Lily that I’m turning into quilted ‘True Image’ photo art.  I love photography, I love taking pictures of nature especially flowers and among flowers, I’m becoming very partial to water lilies.

The second image is the cover page for the ‘how-to & quilting information’ guide that I’m putting on-line to show how to how to create the quilted photo shown on the page.

 

The third image is the inside cover page, place holder for the high quality photo and product information for the on-line guide for the quilted photo shown on the page.

 

I’ll be adding more pages over the next few days and it will include a suggested quilting pattern that can be done using either an advanced sewing machine or a long-arm machine, whichever you have more access to.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I’ve been taking pictures for several years now, but always in the back of my mind, I’ve been trying various presentation methods since there are so many photographers out there now in the world of digital.

I finally thought of a method or style of presentation that is unique. Over the past couple weeks I’ve been working to document of my latest project, originally for workshops that I hope to have in near future then I decided it would be worth it to show the work, show up to this point, that I’d done on my blog to try to get more people interested in this type of art presentation.

So here is what I’ve done so far and I hope that you keep going back and watching as I add to the project. The image is being done in sections primarily as a design choice, I also originally envisioned being able to make images as large as possible by doing it this way but then I realized it’s a great way of introducing people who may be interested in trying to do this type of project that doing smaller sections would be easier to work with.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My goal is to have people who would not have given thought to quilting to possibly giving it a try. I myself really haven’t done a traditional quilt but I love working with the long arm and other sewing machines as I give my photos texture and a unique look.

Let other people know, especially those you know who might want to give this a try, even those you know who have never tried quilting, but are the creative types, might want to give it a try.

I would love to get new people to try quilting, and I’m not referring to traditional quilting. Up to now, I haven’t done a traditional quilt but I have found that I really love adding texture, contours and character to images and can make the image size to almost any size you want. I think this is a really great way turn a photo in unique work of art. I hope to hear from you regarding any thoughts or ideas about my quilted photos, and let me know if have any questions about giving this a try or techniques.

All of my quilted ‘True Image’ photos are one-of a kind, because all of my images are hand quilted. If you would like to purchase one of my quilted images* let me know, or if you would like to have one a your of photos turned you into a quilted ‘True Image’ photo and by all means, contact me, I’ll be happy to talk to you about doing it for you.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….
*I am in the process of preparing a gallery of images that will look beautiful as quilted ‘True Image’ photos. It will be linked to this blog and my Mosaic Photo Quilts website. (…ask the old saying went, “Stay tuned”)

 

Leave a Reply

