Photographers, have you ever thought of quilting? – (2)

Good day to you all. Today I’m posting pages 2 and 3 of my ‘how-to & quilting information’ guide’, the topics being a very short overview of what my quilted ‘True Image’ photo art is, and what tools and materials that I use in doing my projects are.

Page 1
Page 2

Starting with hardware, I’m not going to go into much detail regarding the hardware and tools that I have listed on the pages, these are the tools that I use in my projects. For me it starts with the camera, use the best quality camera that you possibly can, and more important than the actual camera itself is to use a bit of imagination. If the photo that you are taking is with the thought of making quilted image art piece then basically try to frame the shot the way you want when taking it, and it will make it a lot easier to work when editing and prepping image file.

As far as your computer is concerned basically as long as your computer can handle graphic files photo images it’s a computer that’s good enough for work especially if you just doing a project for yourself and that’s all really needed. Also make sure that your computer has a lot of memory/storage because a high-quality photo file does take up quite a few megs of RAM.

I think though, as far as hardware is concerned the camera and your computer are important, but I think in this case the most of piece of hardware is a ‘photo’ graphics, ‘ink-jet’ printer that prints out 8.5 x 11 sheets. Using a printer of this type, and my method of combining the sheets together, you’ll be able to create a image as large as you want, as long as the image has the resolution that you want when it’s done.
Also, when printing out the fabric sheets for this type of project, make sure to use high quality printer inks. Generally the inks need for your specific printer should be considered archival quality inks.

My only other of bit of information about the fabric used to print your image onto. I generally use the prepared printer fabrics, and the most important thing to be aware of is… when you have printed out your image onto the fabric make sure you follow all the directions. I usually use June Taylor ‘Colorfast’ fabric and they recommend that you print and allow the sheets to dry for at least 10 minutes. I set my images to dry for at least 24 hours, making sure that the ink dries into the fiber. Afterwards I will follow or exceed the amount of time that the manufacture says to heat treat the fabric.

Using June Taylor ‘Colorfast’ fabric sheets, I heat the sheets with a hot iron – 60 sec. on backside of the sheets (2) and 30 sec. on the printed side (3).  The first photo (1), shows  the heat treatment about to begin with a ‘hot’ iron, my phone used as a timer and printed fabric sheets after they have dried for at least a day. 

I hope that these pages help to serve as a basic guideline and I hope that you are encouraged to try out a project of your own. If you do, e-mail me if there’s any questions I’ll be glad to get back to you to offer any help I can.

Leave a Reply

